Accidentally Green

20 Mar

So I was nominated by Treehugger for a Best of Green Reader’s Choice Award.  That is very cool!  Especially considering all the other awesome websites from that category.  Check ’em out.

But what’s really interesting is that I haven’t set out to be a green crusader.  All I want to do is increase quality of life in cities and towns because I never bought into the suburban version of the American dream.    It’s just a great coincidence that many of the qualities that make towns and cities great places to live, work, and play also makes them green.  Walking, cycling, and transit are not just easy ways to get around a city, they are also quite green.  I prefer small cars because they take up less space and make less noise than large cars  It’s a lucky bonus that they pollute less.   I like trees because they are nice to look at.  The fact that trees reduce the urban heat island effect is a wonderful side-effect.  I prefer denser neighborhoods because density makes more locations easily accessible.  The fuel saved from unnecessary travel in these neighborhoods is just icing on the cake.  It appears that living the good life goes hand in hand with saving the planet.  What luck!

Joel Pett cartoon from USA Today.

5 Responses to “Accidentally Green”

  1. tmso March 20, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Congrats!

  2. thelyniezian March 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Well, I sort of got into the sort of ideas you’re expressing mainly from the sustianability angle, but I think it’s fair to say that in terms of the way one lives, I have been rather shocked by the way American suburbs are designed, and so on. I don’t drive myself, and though I often get lifts places, I don;t think I could live with somewhere where I’d require a car just to progress more than a few yards from my front door. And even over here- indeed perhaps more so- I’m bothered by the ever-increasing dependence upon the car, the insane (and dangerous!) levels of traffic and the decline of the traditional town centre (what you’d call ‘downtown’) in the name of out-of-town retail parks and the like which in theory you could walk to/through (I’ve tried), but you wouldn’t want to.

    Nevertheless, well done on your unexpected nomination.

  3. thelyniezian March 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    (Have you permission to use the cartoon, BTW?)

    • dedwards8 March 20, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

      It’s isn’t really my cartoon to give. It is from a USA today a couple of years ago. Here is the original author, Joel Pett.

      • thelyniezian April 6, 2012 at 8:34 am #

        Thanks, though I was more concerned with your use of the cartoon- don’t want you getting into trouble!

Comments are closed.

